Italy. Casual about its winemaking and wine classification system, which was developed almost 30 years after France named theirs, there is no other country where wine is more integral to the culture. Wine is served with every meal and every region, or ZONE, in the country grows wine grapes.

Piedmont Nebbiolo
Tuscany Sangiovese, Canaiolo, Cabernet Sauvignon
Veneto Corvina, Rondinella, Trebbiano, Garganega
There are 20 wine producing zones in Italy and most of the fine Italian wines come from the north. Italy also produces many inexpensive "jug wines" for everyday use. There are also many grape varieties that can only be grown in Italy, which makes Italian wines slightly less well known and therefore less predominant in the world of wine.

Italian wine classification and naming system, or APPELLATION, falls under the European Union classification system that is separated into two levels. The top level contains Quality Wines Produced in a Specific Region, QWPSR, and the second level contains table wines. Wines are further classified under Italian wine law.


Visit also Australia, France and the US

Last Updated December 4, 2002
© 2002